Blogging Epic – Deconstructing Deacon

Over the next few weeks I’m going to be trying to rip apart Deacon‘s The Symbolic Species chapter by chapter. I’m going to be doing this because Deacon is one of the most prominent voices in the language evolution debate but having read the book once I’m still not entirely clear on the individual stands of his argument. He incites grumbles from my professors and seems the only major voice who seems content that he has solved the major steps of the problem. For these reasons I think it would be productive to try and rip him apart chapter by chapter and see what he has come up with. Be warned, my gut feeling is one of agreement, but part of me is deeply cynical.

0 Responses to “Blogging Epic – Deconstructing Deacon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

